Square card reader + Verizon iPhone 4s = cannot use app
badluckwithphones

I am a cab driver in a capital city in the northeastern US. I got the Square card reader in January, and used it for a while with my Virgin Mobile prepaid android smart phone.  The Square app worked for maybe two weeks, and then I couldn't use it.  At the time I chalked it up to having a crappy android phone.  So I put the square reader away for when I upgraded my phone. 

Two months ago I ordered my iPhone 4s  through Verizon and reinstalled the Square app on the phone.  For a few weeks, it worked flawlessly.  Then, sometimes I couldn't get an internet signal (according to the fail message) and could not run a credit card.  I question why, because today the app refused to work, two miles from the downtown area of the capital city where I work. Currently, the app is so hit-or-miss, I am lucky if I can get it to work 30% of the time.  I live in a densely populated city in New England with towers everywhere.  Verizon claims to have the best coverage, but this issue makes me wonder.  Other data-requiring apps seem to work okay, and malfunction very little if at all.  Not only do I leave cell data turned on all the time, but I also use a Clear wifi hotspot.  The wifi / 3G icon is always at full strength on the phone when I attempt to use the app.  I ask everyone I know who uses the app and reader, and nobody reports any glitches or issues except for my boss who uses ATT and says he has to be in a really weird, dead location to have the app fail.  Not practically in the center of our city!