Never heard of that happening. If you have reset the device (holding the home button and lock button simultaneously until Apple logo appears) then you may need to do a factory restore
You will if you don't do a backup first (although you never actually lose your apps. Any purchases or downloads you make in iTunes will be available for redownload. You will just lose settings and maybe scores for those apps if you don't back the data up).