Why won't Verizon iPhone send iMessage when on call and Wifi?
hockeybrian

I am new to Verizon and am aware of the simultaneous voice and data limitation, however I was under the impression that wifi would work normally while on a phone call, and it does.

However I am finding that when on a phone call, and successfully on wifi, iMessages do not get sent. They fail.

Several others have confirmed this, so why does it work this way? What about iMessages makes it not work over wifi like all other data does?

I have a iphone 5 on 6.0.1 already BTW but have no idea if it happened before with 6.0.

Brian

Labels (1)
Tags (2)
0 Likes
Re: Why won't Verizon iPhone send iMessage when on call and Wifi?
darlamarie
Enthusiast - Level 2

The only time I have had issues sending iMessages when on wifi is if I connected to wifi while already on the phone. If I was connected wifi while not on a call the iMessages work just fine. I haven't updated to iOS 6,0.1 yet but it worked for me on iOS 5 and iOS 6.

0 Likes
hockeybrian

Yes, that's exactly why I'm posting this. It doesn't make any sense that all wifi data works on a call, but sending iMessages doesn't. I (and I would guess pretty much everyone) was under the impression that iMessages would be treated just like data and therefore would work in any situation where you have connectivity. So why don't iMessages work over wifi while on a call?

0 Likes
bearone21
Legend

question, are  using wifi for internet or just connected thru wifi with no webpage open while on a call? or are you hoping for a 3rd simultaneous function/im, while using wi-fi connected to internet, while on a call & want to im, cuz you do only have the one antenna.

Message was edited by: bearone 21

0 Likes
hockeybrian

It doesn't work that way. If you have a wifi connection you could be doing 15 different data things at the same time and the data would all be traveling over wifi. There is no "3rd simultaneous function" limitation.