Hi - my son received a new phone for Christmas & we returned his old phone timely but Verizon sent me a text that we were going to be charged if we did not turn off the feature 'find my iPhone' on the old device (which they now have). I'm afraid turning this feature off of his current phone will disable me to track his phone now. Please help
This tells me you have not logged into his iCloud/iTunes account. 🤨
When you log into the iCloud account it will show two phones, old and new. You can remotely erase his old phone. Erasing the old phone has no effect on the new one.