Why insurance?
ryann_belter324

I'm confused is it a good idea for someone to buy insurance with their iPhone? Even if they have never done anything bad to that phone? And if I did how much more would it cost me than to just get that phone fixed. I understand if I drop it in the water, but what about a minor crack? does the insurance fix that to? I'm new to all of this so I would like it if someone could shed some light on the subject.

Labels (1)
0 Likes
Re: Why insurance?
kaebfly
Champion - Level 3

If you are generally careful with your phones and you feel like you could afford the cost to repair or replace if needed then no, you don't have to get insurance. If your crack the screen (doesn't matter how minor or major) then you would need to get it replaced. You can look on Apples website to see the price for screen replacement on your model. You can also check with local iPhone repair shops to see their prices. That may be less than the deductible of insurance or about the same. But if you want your device to remain under warranty (assuming the damage happens within the one year warranty) then you would need to go through Apple or their authorized repair shops.

Ultimately it's a very personal choice if insurance is something you need. I don't have it because I went years paying for it and never used it. I decided that it was better for me to pay myself the money and if a need ever arouse I could use that money to repair/replace.

0 Likes
kaebfly
Champion - Level 3

It's $109 for iPhone 6 with Apple. $129 for the 6+. $79 if you have AppleCare+.

0 Likes
kaebfly
Champion - Level 3
0 Likes
Weth
Legend