Autopay discount
Zeberga

I have enrolled with autopay using my debit Card  so that discount would be applied to my bill. But for several months I have never seen the discount applied to the monthly bill. When I contacted the customer services I was informed that my payment method is registered as credit card and I am not able to get the discount. This look a scam to avoid applying the discount to the bill.  I have been paying using my Debit card for several years. 

Now I was informed that the complaint will be sent to the accounting department.  And I am still waiting for response.

0 Likes
1 Solution

Correct answers
Re: Autopay discount
Ann154
Community Leader
Community Leader

If you referring to the discount on Verizon Wireless service, your issue has been reported a number of times on the Verizon Wireless Community forum as well. Unfortunately the discount requires the automatic payment method to be either your checking account or debit card. Since most reports are from users wanting to use their debit card which seems to be registered as a credit card, most of corrective action solutions have been to switch the automatic payments to the checking account. As for why the system can't tell the difference between a debit card and the credit card, I can't say. I suspect it might be because most debit cards have a dual function and can be used for both debit and credit transactions and includes credit protections. 

I'm most definitely NOT a VZW employee. If a post answered your question, please mark it as the answer.

View solution in original post

jonjones1
Legend

Best advice I can give you is stop automatic payments. You can then pay as one time payment and since your not getting the discount anyway why jump through hoops?

never do auto payment since you are giving Verizon free access to your money in your account. Paying by credit card has stronger protections and it’s easier to chargeback their payment if a situation arises.

Ann154
Community Leader