FTP timeout connect back loop back problems
dbjfitz
Enthusiast - Level 2

I was using an Actiontec MI424WR Rev D with no problems what so ever. I literally loved my FIOS Internet connection with all of my heart.

Then I moved and they installed the new Rev E router. Supposed to be all that and a bag of chips. It has a dual core 64bit processor that is supposed to make your connection more stable since it can handle streaming more data to the various components connected to it like your TV's, Laptops, Phones, Computers, etc...

The first thing I noticed (I am a webmaster by trade) is that whenever I connected via FTP to just about any server I owned or working on, it timed out before working. Time stamped it would look like this:

Time - old action - new action

00:00 - click connect - click connect

00:01 - connecting - connecting

00:02 - connected - waiting to connect

00:04 - opening a directory (listing) - waiting still

00:05 - opening a file for editing - waiting

00:20 - save the file and test in browser - waiting

00:25 - need more edits - waiting

00:30 - edits made, saving - timed out connection

00:32 - previewing in browser - click to connect again

00:35 - done - just finally connecting

Something that should take less than a minute ends up taking much more because when I go to save I usually have to do this all over again if I take more than a minute or two during the editing or last interaction with the server.

I have tried FF's extension for FTP, Dreamweaver, Cute FTP and more and everything has the same problem!

So I switched to my old router.. Rev D... supposedly it is supposed to be crappier...

FTP works like a charm.. In fact, I just tested it and I was able to do a listing immediately. Opened a file and saved it in 2 seconds...

So Verizon, your new router that was supposed to be kickass, sucks ass!

Re: FTP timeout connect back loop back problems
VZ_Ron
Contributor - Level 2