Wired to wireless DSL
Ch0023r

Alright, this has probably been answered somewhere on these forums, if so I apologize.

My situation: My family purchased Verizon's dsl package about 11 years ago, all hard-wired to the router. I want to go wireless but I'm running into a few snags, here's my situation.

The Westell modem we recieved bircked a few years ago, I have since replaced it with an Actiontec GT701D and I'm still using the original router (D-link DL-604). Wanting to go wireless, I went ahead and purchased a wireless router (Cisco Linksys E900) and a few wireless adapters for our desktops. After installing the software and establishing a new network I am fully connected but I have no internet access no matter what I do. 

I'm at a loss. I'm by no means a networking pro and am probably doing way more harm than good at this point.  I can't really get into the account we set up the service with seeing as it was established 11 years ago and it seems no one had the bright idea to make a record of it. After googling up the process of switching wired to wireless I quickly realized it was a waking nightmare. If anybody can make any coherent sense out of my problem, please feel free to lend some advice.

0 Likes
Re: Wired to wireless DSL
Aleknit
Enthusiast - Level 2

all you need to do is take that old router out. its screwing you up.

should be wire from wall to in of modem,  from modem  ethernet to (in) on new modem..

0 Likes
Ch0023r

"should be wire from wall to in of modem, from modem ethernet to (in) on new modem.."

I have no idea what you just said. Other than that, the old router was not connected.

0 Likes
smith6612
Community Leader
Community Leader

Here's some clarification as to what could be happening.