im about to reset my modem and need steps on how to setup stuff
isaacz752
Enthusiast - Level 2

I'm new to these things but i forgot my acc and pass on the 192.168.1.1 to setup a pass because people keep using my wifi and it makes my internet slow like crazy. Can someone provide me proper instructions with well explained details? thanks a lot. 😮

Re: im about to reset my modem and need steps on how to setup stuff
isaacz752
Enthusiast - Level 2

unless there is a way to retrieve my username and password for 192.168.1.1 gateway

smith6612
Community Leader
Community Leader

The default Usernames and Passwords for the Verizon Modems/Routers are generally of the following:

admin/password

admin/password1

admin/admin

admin/admin1

Your Verizon Username and Password

admin/Model Serial Number

Give those a shot first before resetting the modem/router. Once you do get in, make sure you configure the Wi-Fi Radio to use WPA2-PSK security with AES Encryption. If that isn't available, use WPA-PSK with TKIP and set a long password. Avoid WEP if at all possible.

isaacz752
Enthusiast - Level 2

i tried those it dont work.

smith6612
Community Leader
Community Leader

OK. From this point, here's what you need to do. Before resetting your modem, see if you can obtain your Username and Password for the Verizon service, if you don't know this. It would be the same imformation used to log into your Verizon e-mail and Account area. Once you've gotten this information, locate and hold the Reset Button on your router down for 30 seconds.