Another Account Verification Center Nightmare
HeatherD1

FIRST… let me start by saying that all three of the women who I spoke with on the phone at the Account Verification Center were as pleasant and professional as they could be, so kudos to them for dealing with me, while I am *completely* frustrated (although I am not including their names here).  However, I do not believe that at least two of the three were adequately trained or competent when it comes to understanding the official documentation required to verify one’s identity (I have no knowledge of the third woman’s abilities).

Second, let me say that I have not yet even signed up for an account with Verizon. But, given this experience, and reading the experiences of other customers regarding the Account Verification Center (AVC), I doubt that I will be confirming an order with them.  As frustrated as I have been with Comcast’s customer service, they are *nothing* when compared to by experience over the past 48 hours.

I am a current resident of Maryland (MD) and recently bought a new house also in MD.  Also, I am a federal employee who depends on the internet to be able to work from home.  So, I called approx. a week in advance of moving to set up new service in my new house (which was within 48 business hours of closing).    I called Verizon and spent 30 minutes discussing plan options and deciding on the service to sign up for.  Everything was going great, and the woman on the phone very polite and helpful.