Equipment Upgrade
bleedgreen1
Enthusiast - Level 1

Sorry if this is a repost, but I could not find a topic discussing this ridiculous practice by Verizon. I called Verzion this afternoon because my 2 year agreement had expired and I wanted to explore options. I have been a Verizon Fios subscriber since 2011. As part of the renewal process I asked about getting new set top boxes as the equipment is now 7 years old and due for an upgrade. One of the set top boxes will not even work with the multi room DVR any longer. When I asked about getting new equipment I was informed that would be no problem, but the monthly rental would go up and not by a little. I was advised that I could get similar, replacement, out dated equipment and the monthly rent would stay the same. Let me get this straight . . . I've been paying for this crap equipment for the past 7 years, and I am supposed to keep paying for the crap equipment monthly, and Verizon will never provide an upgrade unless I agree to pay more?! The boxes weren't even new when they were installed. I already pay $30 month for 3 HD boxes. Over the past 7 years I've paid over $2,300 in monthly rent for the current boxes. If I'd bought new boxes they would have been paid off at least 5 years ago. There is something seriously wrong with this policy. Every 2 years Verizon raises the price when I renew and yet the service doesn't get any better . . . just the opposite in fact. I can switch to Altice One and get the same services for less and get brand new equipment. Fios is likely going to lose me as a customer. Has anyone tried to fight this battle? 

Re: Equipment Upgrade
jonjones1
Legend

Normally if you call and select “cancel services” the retention department will try and keep you. They may give you new boxes but I would not sign any contracts but go a month to month. Get it all in a confirmation email. If using a cell phone you could record the conversation. Just in case your order gets placed wrong.