Horrible Technician and Customer Service
Sel23

My internet stopped working the weekend after I got it installed. I did everything I could think of, resetting the router, turning it on and off, but nothing fixed it. So I called the helpline and spent a while with a rep trying to fix it. Nothing worked. He offered to send out a technician to look into the problem. I was hesitant at first because I'm a college student, I barely had enough income to pay for all my necessities. But there was nothing else I could do to fix it. The rep assured me that if the issue was not on my end, ie if it was an issue with the Verizon box in my apartment building, I would not have to pay for the visit since it was their job to keep it maintained. 

So I agreed because the was the end of May and I needed the internet for classes. Since this was a Sunday, the technician was not available until Wednesday. Fine, no worries. I'll go to a cafe to attend class.

The technician arrives Wednesday and looks over all my wall ports and my router. They were all functioning as expected. So he leaves my apartment to go into the electrical rooms to check all the other connections. Turns out, a line he had installed the week before was in the wrong port. Simple fix; he changed the port. He came back to let me know, I thanked him, and he went on his way. 

My May bill came and was as expected: around $40. 

The next month, my June bill came to a whopping $230. I panicked because there was no way I could afford that. I was in the middle of a lecture so I used the chat help to ask about my charges. The rep I talked to told me I changed my plan from 50/50 to 50/50... I thought I misread but no she said I changed my plan from my original speed to my original speed. 

So if my plan and my speed didn't change, why the upcharge? She said it was because the plan price increased. Okay, that much I can see. But why? She wasn't able to give me an answer.