House already wired with Cat5, trying to hook it all up
Atichnell

I am a novice so please forgive me if I sound ignorant on this thread, it's because I am.  I'm just trying to save the money of having a professional come out if there's any chance I can do this myself.  🙂

I moved into my house a few years ago and noticed there was cat5 wiring in 3 rooms.  I mentioned it to the Verizon tech who installed my router, but he said he'd have to install the router where my main computer would be set up, that he couldn't help me figure out the wiring.  I work from home but I didn't have a need for the cat5 wiring until recently when my office because my son's room.  I use a laptop, so at first I connected wirelessly.  But after a lot of headaches and getting disconnected, I was told that I needed to connect directly to the router because my work server sends too much data for a wireless signal to handle.  My router is currently still located in my sons room (and obviously I can't work from there), but I noticed the cat5 wiring and went searching.  I found where I'm assuming the previous owners had their router/hub set up.  It's in an unfinished part of our basement.  There is a coax and 3 cat5 cables running from one location.  I was able to trace the cat5 cables to the 3 jacks in other rooms.   I tried hooking my router up to the coax in the basement and it didn't work.  I tried tracing the coax, but after many hours of frustration, I lost it behind a finished wall.  Is there some trick to this that maybe I'm missing?  I'd love to just move the router to the basement, but I can't find the end of this coax to even try.