Problem printing with ethernet cable connection to router.
SpeedThree
Contributor - Level 1

I have been dealing with a problem I am experiencing connecting to my printer which had been working just fine for several years.  

However, I am beginning to suspect the problem is not with the printer but with my network.  I have spent the better part of two hours testing all the connections and trying to carefully and logically describe this problem so that one of your router/network gurus might be able to see something which I am missing.

The hardware:

Actiontec MI424WR Wireless Broadband Router Revision E

My iMac (Mac1)

Wife’s iMac (Mac 2)

MacBook Air (MBA)

All running OXS 10.7.4.

What I have been running for about two years, problem free, is a Verizon-supplied Actiontec MI424WR Wireless Broadband Router Revision E connected to Mac1 via an ethernet cable; the other two Macs connected via their Airport cards to the Wireless router.

Last week, before the problem with the printer began, this LAN was working just fine.  I could use AirDrop between any of the computers & I could print from any of the computers.  From one day to the next, I could no longer print and Air Drop stopped working.  All the details of the printing problem and efforts to solve it are available via the above URL on the All Things Macintosh forum here. 

Trying to fix the printer I noticed this:

With Mac1 CONNECTED TO THE ROUTER VIA AN ETHERNET CABLE, and with the Finder preferences for all computers set to show everything in the Finder sidebar here are the results:

Mac1 > Finder sidebar > Devices.  The Mac1 shows but the Shared category does not even appear in the Sidebar.  Checking the Print & Scan pane of Sys Prefs, the printer shows green dot/idle.  Sending a print job to the printer results in that dot turning to yellow/in use.  However, the printer icon appears in the dock with a lightning symbol in a yellow circle and opening it reveals:  The printer is not connected.