Audio/video/Xbox chat and game dropouts over past month
Brainiac4271
Enthusiast - Level 3

I've been playing games on Xbox Live for almost 4 years and doing audio/video Skype chats for almost a year with no problems.

For the past month, I've been getting dropouts of my video and audio Skype chats several times a night every single night on a Windows Vista computer.  I tried FaceTime on the iPad 2--same thing.  The final straw came last night when I was playing a game on Xbox Live for 1 1/2 hours and was about 10 minutes from conclusion when the connection cut out and I lost the game, not just for me, but for my partner as well.  I continued to do Xbox chat while at the same time set up constant pinging of the Google site.  After a few minutes, the chat cut out, and at the same moment, the pinging to Google stopped for about 5 seconds before resuming.  The lights on the modem never went out or indicated that something was wrong.  If one is just surfing the Internet or checking E-mail, a 5-second dropout wouldn't even be noticeable, but it's enough to drop an audio/video call or ruin a game.  For the Skype chats, using wireless or wired connections don't matter--it's all the same, still get dropouts.  I have a Westell 7500 modem with wireless built in.

I called in to Verizon tech support, who transferred me to advanced tech support, which concluded that the problem was with the software and not the Internet connection (despite the fact that this has occurred on Windows Vista with Skype, FaceTime with iPad 2, and Xbox Live, and the only thing those 3 have in common is the Internet connection), and they tried to sell me their advanced tech support plan for $14.99/month, minimum 10-month commitment.  I didn't buy it because I felt strongly it was the Internet connection and not the software, and the loss of pinging to the Google site for 5 seconds confirms it.