Connecting a second router to boost WIFI
senbariki

I have seen many messages asking for assistance in setting up a second router to act as a WIFI repeater or booster.  I am having a problem maintaining internect connectivity and hope that some of you may have solved the problem and can help me out.

First of all, know that I am less than a complete novice when it comes to networking, and whenever I have to access my router it scares me 😞  Also many of the references are over my head, but for what it is worth, here goes nothing.

I have very weak WiFI connectivity in a couple of areas of the house.  Single story but spread out and the primary router is located at a point at the other end of the house from where the connectivity is poor.  I am attempting to use two Actiontec routers (one primary and the second as a repeater) to improve the connectivity

The primary router is an Actiontec MI424-WR Rev I connected to the ONT via coax. The second router is an Actiontec MI424-WR Rev F.

I have followed the procedure exactly as detailed in the DSL Report www.dslreports.com/faq/15984.  Got everything configured, plugged in the secondary router to AC power, connected the coax in the room with poor connectivity and bingo, got all green lights on the secondary.  Started testing to see if I was getting WIFI in this room and then went outside where there had been no signal before and I was connected! 

Great!  I had actually done something "networky" without screwing up my primary router.  This was early evening and after dinner I went to my iMac which is connected to the primary router via ethernet and discovered I had no internet connection at all.  Closed Firefox, tried again to no avail, tried Safari, no joy, restarted iMac - nothing.  No internet.  Went into the other room and turned off the secondary router and now we had internet connection again, both ethernet and wireless, but of course the previously dead area was kaput again.