Connecting my own Router with Verizon FIOS
Tian1
Enthusiast - Level 1

Hi,

I am new to the Verizon FIOS and trying to use my own Router. The pin thread "Using your own router with VERIZON FIOS" is very helpful, but my situation is a little different: I don't have the Verizon Router to start with.

I am renting an apartment, and when I moved into, the Verizon ONT was already set up (possibly by former renter). There are Coax and Ethernet cables out from the ONT. When I connect the Ethernet cable directly to my Laptop, it works perfectly. However, when I connect the cable to my own router and wirelessly connect my laptop to the router, there is no Internet. My router is NETGEAR WNDR4300 (a very old version,  but planning to change it if I can use my own router).

I am not sure what happens here. Any help would be very appreciated.

0 Likes
1 Solution

Correct answers
Re: Connecting my own Router with Verizon FIOS
smith6612
Community Leader
Community Leader

Before disconnecting the laptop from the ONT, be sure to do a "DHCP Release" on the IP. Otherwise you'll have to wait a few hours before connecting your router to the ONT.

On Windows, the command to DHCP release is "ipconfig /release" in either PowerShell or Command Prompt.

Assuming the above has been done, the Netgear router should just be able to get an IP via DHCP at that point.

View solution in original post

smith6612
Community Leader
Community Leader

Before disconnecting the laptop from the ONT, be sure to do a "DHCP Release" on the IP. Otherwise you'll have to wait a few hours before connecting your router to the ONT.

On Windows, the command to DHCP release is "ipconfig /release" in either PowerShell or Command Prompt.

Assuming the above has been done, the Netgear router should just be able to get an IP via DHCP at that point.

Tian1
Enthusiast - Level 1

It works perfectly. That is awesome. Thank you! I have wasted 5+ hours trying to talk to representatives. Really appreaciate it.

smith6612