Down/Up speeds spontaneously drop and a router reset restores them
Saml01
Enthusiast - Level 2

Hello Everyone,

I have developed a very strange issue with my fios that begun several weeks ago. At the beggining of every day I would notice that my connection is sluggish. I run a speed test and see that my 50/25 connection is reporting 10/5. After restting the router and re-running the test I get my 50/25 back. I have to do this daily otherwise the speeds never restore on their own. Initially I thought this was a fluke so I let it go. But I couldnt take it anymore so I went to verizon and had the router exchanged yesterday. Today, once again, same story.

I have tried basically everything I know and I work in IT. I am currently out of ideas besides dropping an RJ45 to the ONT instead of the Coax, but that hasnt been a problem for the last 3 years. 

Any thoughts on what this could be before I call and complain to verizon?

Thank You

0 Likes
Re: Down/Up speeds spontaneously drop and a router reset restores them
eljefe2
Master - Level 1

That's a strange one. 

Are you running the speed test via a wired (vs wifi) connection to your router?  And when getting the slower speeds, have you run the speed test with more than one device, PC, Mac, etc?

Saml01
Enthusiast - Level 2

Great suggestion. I completed overlooked that test. I have only two machines wired. A media center PC and a desktop. The rest on wifi. Problem is the media center is connected to the TV with a front end, I just never gave it a second thought to run the speed test from it. 

Well, I did just that and what do you know, the computer I am on is barely chugging while the other is flying.