Setting up a network
Synkronicity

Hey, I have a crappy network set up in my house, I'm a total beginner when it comes to networking but I have some of the basics down. The network is currenty: Verizon Box outside, Coax into another split thing, which has coax cables running all over my house from the outside. I have one coax cable in my room which used to be connected to a set top box, we removed that set top box but the coax cable is still there. One cable runs from the outside into the basement and into my Actiontec MI424WR. Here's the question now: Is it possible for me to get another router and connect it to the set top box coax in my room and use that router as an access point? How can I go about with this and what are some more options? 

If everything was confusing, here's a summary: I have my router in the basement, my room is upstairs. I like to game and stream and surf the net while in my own room. There are family members constantly streaming on iPads and iPhones so the wireless is pretty awful. What are some options that I can go with?

0 Likes
1 Solution

Correct answers
Re: Setting up a network - Easy Fix Available
armond_in_nj1
Master - Level 1

@Synkronicity wrote:

... The network is currenty: Verizon Box outside, Coax into another split thing  ... one coax cable in my room ... One cable runs from the outside into the basement and into my Actiontec MI424WR ... Is it possible for me to get another router and connect it to the set top box coax in my room and use that router as an access point? ... What are some options that I can go with?

You can make changes easily.  Just unplug and disconnect the router in the basement, then reconnect it to the coax output in your room.  Plug it in, turn it on, and you are good to go.  At that point you can choose to connect in your room either wired or wireless.