Slow page loads, dropped connection
wildjersey
Enthusiast - Level 2

Hi,

Looking for some advice here. I write for the web for a living, and spend most of my day online. I'm not happy with the speed of my connection right now, and am considering upgrading to a faster package. I'm currently on the 768k to 1.5Mbps DSL package.

The problem is, I don't get anywhere near the speed I'm paying for now. Page load times go from speedy to drop dead slow (20-30 secs), and often hang. I'm not sure what's going on, although I can say my mother has the same problems at her house (next town over, same DSL package). I can't see paying for a "faster" package when I don't even get the speed I should be now.

Here are some stats. Hoping someone can take a look and give me some thoughts about whether a speed upgrade would be worth it.

Verizon speed test:

Analysis information:

Checking for Middleboxes . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Done
SendBufferSize set to [132480]
running 10s outbound test (client to server) . . . . . 481.45Kb/s
running 10s inbound test (server to client) . . . . . . 138.24kb/s

------ Client System Details ------
OS data: Name = Mac OS X, Architecture = x86_64, Version = 10.6.8
Java data: Vendor = Apple Inc., Version = 1.6.0_24

------ Web100 Detailed Analysis ------
Client Receive Window detected at 524280 bytes.
Cable modem/DSL/T1 link found.
Link set to Full Duplex mode
Information: throughput is limited by other network traffic.
Good network cable(s) found
Normal duplex operation found.

Web100 reports the Round trip time = 155.6 msec; the Packet size = 1440 Bytes; and
There were 40 packets retransmitted, 2 duplicate acks received, and 0 SACK blocks received
The connection stalled 2 times due to packet loss
The connection was idle 1.05 seconds (8.07%) of the time
This connection is sender limited 22.57% of the time.
This connection is network limited 77.42% of the time.