Verizon DSL - Frustrating Performance
dbywaters1
Enthusiast - Level 2

I've been using Verizon DSL for about 6 years now. For a while, service was sufficient, but for the last year I've had nothing but negative experiences with it. I've been experiencing slow speeds and frequent disconnects. I've called tech support numerous times only to get the typical responses that do not address the problem. "Have you tried restarting your computer? Have you tried restarting your modem? Have you tried restarting your router?" I've done all of these suggestions more times than I can count with 0 results. I'd love to switch my internet provider, but Verizon DSL is the fastest available internet in my area (sad). I wish Verizon would make an effort to help their customers, but with my current and past experiences I don't believe that is going to happen any time soon. For the past week I can barely use the internet. Websites load extremely slow. I can't play any online games because the latency is too high. I've even made sure the two computers in the household are not downloading anything when the internet drops out. I've tried using better DNS servers. Nothing has helped. Is there someone that could possibly help me? It doesn't seem like Verizon will.

*edit* Here's a traceroute i ran

traceroute to 72.77.*.* (72.77.*.*), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
1 gw1-g-vlan201.dca.giganews.com (216.196.98.4) 0 ms 0 ms 0 ms
2 ash-b2-link.telia.net (213.248.70.241) 0 ms 0 ms 0 ms
3 TenGigE0-0-0-10.GW1.IAD8.ALTER.NET (152.179.50.233) 2 ms 7 ms 1 ms
4 T0-5-0-1.PITBPA-LCR-22.verizon-gni.net (130.81.163.77) 16 ms 14 ms 14 ms
5 G15-0-0.PITBPA-LCR-04.verizon-gni.net (130.81.151.182) 11 ms 11 ms 11 ms
6 P3-0-0.PITBPA-LCR-02.verizon-gni.net (130.81.27.252) 12 ms 12 ms 12 ms
7 P9-0.PITBPA-PITBPADT-ERXG02.verizon-gni.net (130.81.33.159) 12 ms 12 ms 13 ms
8 * * *
9 * * *
10 * * *
11 * * *
12 * * *
13 * * *
14 * * *
15 * * *
16 * * *
17 * * *