Very Slow Fios Internet Service at Belmont High School in Belmont, MA
jdunk17

Hello,

I'm a Labbb Collaborative Student who goes to Belmont High School on thursdays and fridays for class and I would like Verizon to offer 500/500Mbps Fios Internet Service to Belmont High School in Belmont, MA Because the Fios Internet is Very slow almost like Dial Up when there is a lot of students using it.

0 Likes
Re: Very Slow Fios Internet Service at Belmont High School in Belmont, MA
jonjones1
Legend

@jdunk17 wrote:

Hello,

I'm a Labbb Collaborative Student who goes to Belmont High School on thursdays and fridays for class and I would like Verizon to offer 500/500Mbps Fios Internet Service to Belmont High School in Belmont, MA Because the Fios Internet is Very slow almost like Dial Up when there is a lot of students using it.

That would be something your school would have to look into.

you as a student have no say in the internet provided by the school district.

if you are paying tuition to go there then your choice can be to find another school with the internet you need.

Good Luck

JustinG1
Community Leader
Community Leader

Hello.

This might not be an issue with FiOS at all, at my previous high school we had a 300/300 Mbps connection, but the school's firewall limitied students to 2 Mbps per person, regardless of the load on the main internet connection.

Its also possibile that, like my previous high school, the on-site networking equiptment that the school uses to deliever internet service to you is quite garbage, and not the fault of Verizon. (Yes, we still had 12 year old 10/100 fast ethernet switches throughout the building, and sometimes I'd even come across an ethernet hub!)

I would bring your concern up to the IT department that runs your school, and hopefully you could get someone to look into it. 

Good luck!

smith6612
Community Leader
Community Leader