coax light on WCB3000n extender blinks
dilbe
Enthusiast - Level 2

I have Verizon FIOS with a G1100 gateway that I am renting. I have been using a Verizon purchased WCB3000N for several years without any issues. I recently added TV support. In doing that I needed to add a MOCA splitter to add the set top box at the same location as the extender. After doing that the formerly solid coax light on the extender started blinking. If I go directly to the extender with the original coax, its solid again. I removed the splitter and connected the original coax and new coax with a connector to the extender and the light blinks. I did this with 3 different coax thinking the new cable was bad. When nothing improved I changed connector and repeated the process. Coax light still blinks. Go back to original cable and its solid again. What is going on and how do I fix it? Thanks.

0 Likes
1 Solution

Correct answers
Re: coax light on WCB3000n extender blinks
dilbe
Enthusiast - Level 2

SOLVED!!!!

Talked to Verizon support.  Finally got through to a person after many calls over months.  They diagnosed the problem as a bad coax.  Said I could pay $99 to run new coax or sign up for in-house wiring maintenance, $30 per month and cancellable.  No brainer there.  Tech arrived today. Immediately said bad extender after looking at lights and not seeing on the network with his test equipment.  Swapped out WCB3000N for WCB6200Q.  Problem fixed.  Since it was a Verizon purchased 3000N, no charge.  Even after 5 years!  I was about to spend another $40 on cable and connectors with the hope it fixed the problem.

Thank you for all the input.  Learned alot.  

View solution in original post

Edg1
Community Leader
Community Leader

Does it still work when the coax light is blinking? The added split may be dropping the MoCA signal to lower than needed. 

dilbe
Enthusiast - Level 2