"You think TimeWarner is bad? try Verizon"... and they weren't kidding...
bzapper

After 2 years of being with Time Warner, I've decided to switch to Verizon DSL, saying to myself maybe I'll get faster speed and less disconnects (about 2 a year, with Time Warner, that is).

So I did, signed up for the double play package : DirecTV + 15mbps DSL internet. Service started 8 days ago, now I already VERY deeply regret it. By the way, I'm a software engineer myself and consider myself decently forgiving when it comes to reliability of technology (LOL?) It's really the customer service part that I couldn't stand.

Let's get the good things out of the way so I can concentrate on being angry. The installation was excellent, both DirecTV  and DSL. Smooth, and fast. I was getting solid 14mbps and streaming netflix like no other. Happy, definitely, but not for long... Here's the bad part:

So on Friday 8/5 about 5pm, came home, internet isn't working. Did everything by the book, restart, check connection, etc. Called Verizon, got to a rep, and of course he'd get me to do the dance all over again. Believe it or not I actually did it again as instructed, hoping for miracles? Of course nothing good came out of that and he created a "TICKET". Telling me that a technician will be coming over to take a look the next day Saturday 8/6. I was surprised to say the least. But then he said I'd have to be there, and technician may arrive ANYTIME between 10am?(i forgot) and 7pm, but will give me a call 30 minutes in advance. So now I had to replan my weekend around it, but I still said yes and patiently waited on Saturday - I was a FOOL.