speed
fustrated2

Why has my speed dropped from 1184/448 to 864/160 for the past few days?  Also at times only have a 32 download speed and frequently have to restart 6100G modem.

0 Likes
Re: speed
KailaS

I am having a similar problem. For over two weeks, I either lose Internet or have the slowest download speeds.  This morning was especially bad and then suddenly, NOTHING. An hour later, everything has been running well. Did they upgrade?  Could they not have warned us during this two-plus week period?  (I am an online student. What a pain this has been.)

Anyway, I am having new service--from another company--set up next week.  I have been pleased with Verizon except this month.  Calls got me nowhere. I just wish someone had been honest. 

0 Likes
dslr595148
Community Leader
Community Leader

To all who need help

Step one: Visit http://www.giganews.com/line_info.html and post up the Traceroute the page shows, if you wish. Be aware that your non-bogan public IP Address will show up.  It might shown up as the final hop (bottom-most line of the trace)  might contain a hop with your IP address in it. Either remove that line or show only the first two octets. What I'm looking for is a line that mentions "ERX" in it's name towards the end. If for some reason the trace does not complete (two lines full of Stars), keep the trace route intact.

For example this what I see

news.giganews.com

traceroute to 71.242.*.* (71.242.*.*), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
    1 gw1-g-vlan201.dca.giganews.com (216.196.98.4) 13 ms 13 ms 13 ms
    2 ash-bb1-link.telia.net (213.248.70.241) 39 ms 7 ms 7 ms
    3 TenGigE0-2-0-0.GW1.IAD8.ALTER.NET (63.125.125.41) 4 ms 4 ms GigabitEthernet2-0-0.GW8.IAD8.ALTER.NET (63.65.76.189) 4 ms
    4 so-7-1-0-0.PHIL-CORE-RTR1.verizon-gni.net (130.81.20.137) 6 ms 6 ms 6 ms
    5 P3-0-0.PHIL-DSL-RTR11.verizon-gni.net (130.81.13.170) 6 ms 6 ms 6 ms
    6 static-71-242-*-*.phlapa.east.verizon.net (71.242.*.*) 32 ms 32 ms 33 ms