BEGGING for any help w/ FIOS router problem.
RLaffman

Hi All,

I am a noob at networking and in desperate need of help.  I just got FIOS installed for phone, TV, and internet.   I am at my wits end, and the wife wants me to return it all and get cable back.  The internet connection they set up is via coax, and I was given the Actiontec modem/router.  Since my issue is complex, and I know people will need all the info to help me, I’ll try and break this post down.

My problem:  I need to use my Linksys WRT600N wireless router.   All of my laptops have draft n cards, and I also need to connect my (networked) hard drive to it (the Linksys supports a usb connection).  I also have many things I need to connect to it.  FIOS said I could do this when I called to order, but the techs who arrived said they didn’t know how. 

My set up:   I have 4 wired electronics, 1 network USB hard drive, Vonage, and several wireless g and n devices that I need to connect to the router so I would really like to keep mine.  However I am willing to buy a new item (bridge or access point) if anybody knows one that will definitely work and meet my needs (4 LAN ports, a usb port, and n access).  Somebody suggested the “D-Link DAP1522 Xtreme” claiming it won’t have any of the problems I am facing now.  If anyone can confirm that please let me know.