DSL Attainable speed
MTheart
I have been paying for the "Enhanced DSL" for a few years now and have been locked at 3Mbps because "We do not offer the higher speeds in your area"... Which would be fine except for the fact that every time I check my modem status it claims I have an attainable speed of 21224 / 1323 Kbps. Shouldn't I be able to EASILY get the full 15Mbps?! I have seen a few other posts on here advising people to basically call and pest the person on the other end until they give in - - - is this the only way to get what what I am paying for?! My service has been very reliable and I have no other complaints besides being locked into the slowest level of what I am paying for.
0 Likes
Re: DSL Attainable speed
smith6612
Community Leader
Community Leader

@MTheart wrote:
I have been paying for the "Enhanced DSL" for a few years now and have been locked at 3Mbps because "We do not offer the higher speeds in your area"... Which would be fine except for the fact that every time I check my modem status it claims I have an attainable speed of 21224 / 1323 Kbps. Shouldn't I be able to EASILY get the full 15Mbps?! I have seen a few other posts on here advising people to basically call and pest the person on the other end until they give in - - - is this the only way to get what what I am paying for?! My service has been very reliable and I have no other complaints besides being locked into the slowest level of what I am paying for.

Pretty much pestering is the way to do it. Verizon doesn't often update the databases for DSL even if a higher speed is capable. I had to do that to get 5Mbps out of my circuit.