Dropped DSL Connection
tomearly
Enthusiast - Level 3

It's been my experience with Verizon the past few years that they will yes you to death but have little interest in actually fixing what's wrong with DSL. Verizon doesn't offer Fios where I live so DSL is the only option right now. I have been losing my connection at least 10 times a day for a few months now. For my equipment I have a new Actiontec GT784WNV modem with a dedicated shielded twisted pair line connected directly to the Verizon box. I have ferrite core filters on all the power lines near or associated with the modem. All my devices except my phones are hard wired to the modem. The Verizon switching station is about 1 mile from my house. I am told fiber runs to that station and copper runs from there out. I have spent countless hours on the phone with Verizon technicians and twice they have sent people out to my location to fix the problem. Each time they tell me the problem is fixed but nothing changes. If I'm streaming a movie I usually have to get up and restart the modem at least once sometimes more. I actually lost the connection while I was writing this and had to reset the modem. One of the technicians hinted that the old copper phone lines might be the problem. Since Verizon's push is on Fios (I have been told they don't ever plan on expanding it here) I don't believe they have any desire to spend the money to actually fix anything associated with DSL. Our small cable company has been bought out by a major player in that market. They are supposed to take over by the third quarter of this year. When that happens it's goodbye Verizon DSL for me. I just can't deal with the battle any longer.

0 Likes
Re: Dropped DSL Connection
dslr595148
Community Leader
Community Leader

Is the issue a memory leak like what is addressed in Actiontec GT784WNV router memory leak