Skip to main content
Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.
end of navigation menu
***Announcement: Early next week, we’ll be merging the current Fios and Wireless Communities into the all new Verizon Community! Beginning the evening of Sunday 12/4, both Communities will be placed in read-only mode. You’ll still be able to visit the Communities and browse content, but login will be disabled. On the afternoon of Monday 12/5, all users will be able to log into the new Verizon Community. We expect the new Community to be fully functional the morning of Friday 12/9. Additional details can be found in the Announcements board and under Featured Topics!
Required to shut off safety mode in order to use my carryover data
rambocat
Newbie

We have the 10GB shared data plan. Today I got a sudden notification that we were out of data and had entered safety mode.  I checked my account and it said we had 4GB of rollover data. When I called support, they told me that to access the rollover data I needed to shut off safety mode. I'm very concerned about this, as I have never had to do that in the past when accessing rollover data on my 4 GB plan. It seems risky. Does this seem right to everybody? Is this a new requirement? It seems that your rollover data should be considered part of your data allowance and you should not be required to shut off safety mode to access it. 

0 Likes
Re: Required to shut off safety mode in order to use my carryover data
vzw_customer_support
Customer Support

This is not how it should work, so I'd like to take a look at your account. Could you meed us in a Private Note, please?

 

StephannieP_VZW

0 Likes
Re: Required to shut off safety mode in order to use my carryover data
9wood
Specialist

Do question what they told you my understanding is roll over data would be more or less a cushion the following month or time available not sure if it's 30 or 90 days last so you would have your normal allowance the following month plus the roll over which I understand to mean if you use the amount after that the roll over would be applied and used

0 Likes