Re: Verizon is blocking remote desktop apps?
vzw_customer_support
Customer Service Rep

Spitfang, thank you for sharing this information and we are sorry to hear about your experience. We appreciate you sharing the steps you have taken with what has worked and what hasn't worked. Are you having issues with any other application working on cellular data? Have you notified the developers of the Desktop app regarding the issue you are experiencing? The developer information can be located on the App information page from the Google Play store.  

-Sylvia

0 Likes
Spitfang
Enthusiast - Level 2

Hello Sylvia,

I have not experienced the issue of the phone's network connection resetting with any other app. For other remote work apps, I have limited experiences over the years as it is my work's and my personal preference to use Chrome Remote Desktop. I was probably on WiFi when I briefly used others, or maybe they worked as intended and I didn't notice. I don't know.

Regarding contacting the developers of the Chrome Remote Desktop app. I had a few communications with their support staff maybe 4-5 years ago. It was mostly unhelpful because they suggested simple things like reinstalling the app, factory resetting my phone, reinstalling Windows, and changing generic firewall/antivirus rules on the remote computers. As I alluded to before, this has occurred for years, on a variety of smartphones of many different Android OS updates (anywhere between 5 and now 12), in addition to the variety of PC's with various Windows installs (7 through 10), including the various network connections such as my home, work office, cellular enabled laptops, and the WiFi networks of clients I visited.