UAP-AC-LR as Access point w/ FIOS TV
BrianHarg
Enthusiast - Level 3

Good evening - newbie here so please be gentle... Not sure if this should be here (Internet) or over in the TV forum).  I have had the Ubiquiti UAP-AC-LR on my home network for years (since 2016) and all has worked really well (coverage area is great). I have full internet speeds that I have paid for on every device. I have recently started to try to use the iPhone FIOS app more and now the new Firestick FIOS app (which I am paying for and can't use - therefor the anxiety). I am consistently running into issues w/ being able to stream on the phone as well as firestick when connected to the wireless in my home. VZ support can reset things on their end (clear cache is what they said), but shortly after words, it does not connect again and I can't stream. I can get the menu's/guide info - and on the iPhone even use the remote to change channels. But I can't stream. I have the FIOS G1100 and have wireless running on one SSID.  But since it is in the basement, hardly anyone connects to it (but when I do - all the streaming works fine!!). Out of the G1100 I have an ethernet cable running to a switch that services several rooms in my house. At one of those locations, I have added the AC-LR w/ a different SSID - and that one serves the whole house really well - that is what we all connect to. Everything runs great off that (Apple TV, multiple devices, etc), but not the FIOS streaming services. Any thoughts/ideas on why? VZ does not think the Ubiquiti is really setup as an access point - but what else can it be to get the internet connection?  Is there some setting I am missing on either the AC-LR or the G1100???  Thanks!

0 Likes
Re: UAP-AC-LR as Access point w/ FIOS TV
Cang_Household
Community Leader
Community Leader

When you say Firestick, are you referring to the Amazon Firestick?