number of hours of HD viewing
mjgave1

I have a new Motorola 7216 DVR and am wondering how many hours of HD can be stored on the DVR?

Also do the items stored ever expire or do they get deleted after watching them once? I am a DVR newbie.

0 Likes
Re: number of hours of HD viewing
Keyboards
Master - Level 3

You can get approximately 20 hours of HD, 80 hours of SD or some mix of each.  If you have IMG version 1.9 and add an external eSATA drive you can add up to 2 TB (internal drive is the 7216 is 160 GB).  This would give you up to 12 times the storage (240 to 250 hours of HD).

Technically the recordings don't expire, but if space is needed to record new shows the DVR can delete existing recordings starting with the oldest.  Items are not deleted by just watching them.  It rerqures action on your part to delete.

0 Likes
HDfanJoe

My neighbor seems to have twice the memory on her drive as I have on mine (20 hours HD).  She started later and when she had trouble with her DVR, it was replaced with one with more capacity.  Mine is always almost full and sometimes recordings are replaced before I have a chance to protect them.

i would like a higher capacity DVR but I don't want to pay for it because I have been a loyal customer for years more than my neighbor, and because it doesn't seem fair to me.  Even if I had more capacity, I would want to know how to add the external drive.  WHere do you get it and how much does it cost?

0 Likes
Keyboards
Master - Level 3

@HDfanJoe wrote:

My neighbor seems to have twice the memory on her drive as I have on mine (20 hours HD).  She started later and when she had trouble with her DVR, it was replaced with one with more capacity.  Mine is always almost full and sometimes recordings are replaced before I have a chance to protect them.