Skip to main content
Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.
end of navigation menu
How do I "un-register" a computer in the new login function that uses the security question?
stawick1
Enthusiast

This is kind of an opposite problem. I can get to my email, and set up the security question and picture. However, when I login it automatically checks the "register this computer" box. If i login in haste and forget to uncheck that box, how would I un-register a specific computer?

I still have password protection, but i think there needs to be the ability to undo the registration, perhaps in my profile, or maybe its a cookie I need to delete?

0 Likes
1 Solution

Correct answers
Re: How do I "un-register" a computer in the new login function that uses the security que
walt178
Specialist

Deleting Verizon cookies should unregister it.   It will probably be easier to delete all Verizon cookies than try to identify the specific one which is causing the problem. 

View solution in original post

0 Likes
Re: How do I "un-register" a computer in the new login function that uses the security que
walt178
Specialist

Deleting Verizon cookies should unregister it.   It will probably be easier to delete all Verizon cookies than try to identify the specific one which is causing the problem. 

0 Likes
Re: How do I "un-register" a computer in the new login function that uses the security que
stawick1
Enthusiast

Thanks, that did it. Its what I thought, but thought it could've been a specific cookie. Deleting them all (for Verizon) wasnt too difficult though.

I realize the "register" box is auto-checked for convenience, and I may be in the minority, but since it is not that obvious how to undo that, I lean toward the side of safety - to make users check it. Like for the case of public access computers and such. (I had a similar mild comment on the Discover card site a while back, they did something similar, but that was more critical credit card info. I dont think they ever changed it either. Or they changed their login scheme altogether.)

For those that wish to register, but forget, its at most a 2 step process to register the computer at the next login. If you inadvertently leave the register box checked, like I mentioned (and hence this post), its not as obvious. Just my 2 cents, anyway.

But I'm all set now, thanks.

0 Likes