Data Use Question
davidpatey1000

Ok, Im new to data use, etc.

Im looking into hooking my Mom up with the 5 Gig plan at her rural location in OH. To perfom a laymen test, I downloaded netmeter,  and simply surfed the net, off an on, at my leisure (at night, off work) with random sites, videos, emails, pics, etc...for 2 days now.

Again, Im new....but netmeter shows my total usage (download and upload) at 9.6 GB. Is this right? For 2 days? I hit a Metallica video (thats right!) on youtube twice, a handfull of saved emails pics from a digital camera, and many other random google searches, several normal webpages, onling banking...all the normal stuff I do with my normal cable broadband. You know, to gauge will this work for her???

She will use her laptop, I might guess, ABOUT the same as I have in last couple days. Am I reading the numbers from netmeter wrong? Minus the videos, I gather that eats a lot of data...etc....can a little old lady in rural OH make it on 5 Gigs a month? Emailing, light surfing...avoiding videos...etc?

Thanks for any input.

0 Likes
Re: Data Use Question
Not applicable

For the past several months I have used 4 to 5 to 6 GB per month.  This month it looks like I am going to use just over 10 GB because I watched lots of football on Justin.tv.  I have Verizon Broadband and Charter cable.  She should be OK if she stays away from video and music downloads.

0 Likes
davidpatey1000

Follow up. I wonder, if for whatever reason, the data usage I'm showing will differ? As in, I'm using a HP Mini Netbook with cable broadband....would that somehow differ from the broadband card?

Also, for the record, she is on the way to Verizon to get set up. They apparantly offer a 30 day trial, which sounds fishy for some odd reason....so I will post back with the latest soon. Thanks again.

0 Likes
Not applicable