Using USB Modem with the Network Extender
prairiewind

Hey~

I'm new to this so forgive me if this has already been answered. Does anyone know if the LG 4G LTE USB Modem VL600 will work with the network extender?

The Verizon people don't know..... some say it will, some say it won't. Thanks

0 Likes
1 Solution

Correct answers
Re: Using USB Modem with the Network Extender
yaro1776
Enthusiast - Level 2

The network extender will not work with the USB modem. The primary purpose of the extender is for use in weak cell phone signal areas that are served by wired/fiber  DSL or Broadband connections - the cell phone signal is transmitted to you (Network extender) via a broadband connection. The skimpy antenna is useless if you have an outside weak cell signal and no wired broadband...

For the VZ USB modem data package in a very weak cell signal area you will need a cell signal amplifier (Google this). This I have done and get a very strong cell signal (three - four bars) compared to the original one bar signal. The cell phone works great! The VZ 3G/4G USB modem I plug directly into the computer for now and receive an amplified 3G signal that is a solid two to three bars - the cell amplifier does this in a transparent way. However my speeds are limited and throttled by Verizon at times down to 50kbps speeds even though the signal strength (seen in VZAccess Manager Stats) remains constant. See my 3G Broadband issues post from yesterday afternoon.

The speed issues and inconsistency of service have put a hold my installing a wireless router (check Cradlepoint MBR 95) that will accept the VZ USB modem and then turn into an in house WIFI or Ethernet signal. This router is used in conjunction with the boosted signal from the cell phone amplifier.

The network extender is essentially useless to you if your purpose is to boost a cell signal for USB modem data package use.

Regards...

View solution in original post

0 Likes
Wildman
Legend