Droid X - screen grayed out & no connection
staceywilk77
Enthusiast - Level 3

This morning I was checking my gmail on my phone.  All of a sudden the screen started getting fuzzy with lines, then I lost my connection.  I can only view the time and date at the top of the screen.  It's showing today is Aug 20th, 4:18am.  It's also in airplane mode.  I've tried taking the battery out with no luck.

I'm guessing when I go to the Verizon store during my lunch hour, I'll likey receive a new phone.  This is my 2nd refurbished phone in less than a year.  My first Droid X had to be replaced 2 weeks after receiving it because it was reboot sporadically (really ticked my mom off because it always happened when I was on the phone with her).

So of course, my phone is setup just like I like it.  If I get a "new" phone, how much information will transfer.  Most of my app info is on my SD card.  Will I need to reinstall all my apps? Will I still have access to my photos?

I'm still learning about the phone and all the quirks.  Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Stacey

0 Likes
1 Solution

Correct answers
Re: Droid X - screen grayed out & no connection
Cody21
Master - Level 2

Thanks for that clarification @bearone ..  I've never had to go through a replacement, fortunately.

So Stacey - all the more reason to make sure you either get your stuff copied off the card - or when you get your new one, don't let them Factory reset (or flash) the phone with your card in the new phone -- else they MAY end up reformatting your card!  Hopefully they'll just give you the replacement w/o the card & already "set up" ready for you. Then just stick the card in and you're ready to go with data preserved..

View solution in original post

0 Likes
Cody21
Master - Level 2