How do I change "delete" settings on microsoft outlook email account?
tyguy
Newbie

I set up my outlook account on my Droid Charge but when I delete messages, it is deleting them from my computer as well.  When I go into email and account settings, there is no option about deleting messages.  How do I fix this?

Thanks.

0 Likes
Reply
1 Solution
WCMack
Specialist - Level 1

I set up a couple of new email addresses using the native Email app on the phone, to see if there was a setting that allows you to leave messages on the server after downloading to the phone.  I used the "Other" email setup that is available for a new account.  I used Manual setup as well.  On the screen for manual setup there is a setting that allows you to either leave the downloaded email on the server forever or delete it when you delete the email on the phone.

 

After setting up the account, however, there does not seem to be a setting related to the account that allows you to change this.  You have to choose when setting up the account.

View solution in original post

0 Likes
Reply
6 Replies
Ann154
Community Leader
Community Leader
What is the isp you are using? Hotmail? Cox? Roadrunner?

I'm most definitely NOT a VZW employee. If a post answered your question, please mark it as the answer.

0 Likes
Reply
sasteitz
Newbie

I have the same issue!  I am using @comcast.net email with Windows Live Mail.  The guy at the V store set up my email so I have no idea what he did.

 

0 Likes
Reply
Not applicable

sasteitz wrote:

I have the same issue!  I am using @comcast.net email with Windows Live Mail.  The guy at the V store set up my email so I have no idea what he did.

 


Sasteitz, thanks for your inquiry. The original poster marked WCMack's resolution as the answer, so that appears to have worked for him. I would suggest deleting the email account from the phone and re-adding it. When you add the email account you will have the option to leave or delete messages from the server. You can find info on deleting and adding email accounts on our support site

0 Likes
Reply
Kimmrg1
Newbie

I did that, it still deletes them, there was no place to change this.

0 Likes
Reply
jwilly
Newbie

When you re-setup the account, be sure to uncheck the box at the bottom of the server setup section that reads "Use VerizonEmail gateway".  When you uncheck this box, the pulldown appears for selection of deletion of Email on the incoming server.  After I set it up this way, the 'delete" pulldown is still available when you go back into the account settings after it has been set up.

 

Hope this helps everyone!

 

JW

0 Likes
Reply
WCMack
Specialist - Level 1

I set up a couple of new email addresses using the native Email app on the phone, to see if there was a setting that allows you to leave messages on the server after downloading to the phone.  I used the "Other" email setup that is available for a new account.  I used Manual setup as well.  On the screen for manual setup there is a setting that allows you to either leave the downloaded email on the server forever or delete it when you delete the email on the phone.

 

After setting up the account, however, there does not seem to be a setting related to the account that allows you to change this.  You have to choose when setting up the account.

0 Likes
Reply