TBolt bricked after software update
HighPeaks

Hi All:  I'm a newb to Android--migrated from HTC TP2/Windows 6.1 just 4 days ago.  Early this morning I got a notification about a software upgrade from Verizon.  Selected okay, watched the progress of the download bar for about five minutes.  Phone then apparently started installing the upgrade as another progress bar appeared and completed.  When it finished, phone powered off.  Turned on and showed the first HTC screen.  After about 20 seconds it powered off again.  Turned on and showed first HTC screen.  After about 20 seconds powered off again.  You get the idea.  This went on 10 or 15 times until I removed battery.  Turned back on and same on/off sequence repeated indefinitely.

Called VZW tech support in hopes I could save my settings/customizations.  No dice.  They had me do a hard reset.  Unfortunately, after that, the same on/off sequence started up again.  They said there was nothing else they could do.  Since I hadn't had my phone for 14 days, I was told to contact my vendor, which I did.  They're sending a new phone due to arrive Tuesday.

FWIW, I had installed only seven apps on the phone:  Juice Defender Ultimate, Juice Plotter, AppsInstaller (not yet used), AutoKiller Memory Optimizer (not yet used), SeePU (not yet used), and Advanced Task Killer Pro.  In case it matters, I installed AutoKiller Memory Optimizer simply because it was recommended during the install of Juice Defender as an additional battery saver.  Its blurb indicates that one of its features (setting minfree values) only works with rooted phones, however my phone was not rooted nor do I have any desire to do so.

My questions are (1) what did I do wrong if anything, and (2) I'd like to keep my phone up-to-date, but I'm understandably reluctant to allow another of these upgrades in the future lest I wind up with another doorstop.  Are there any other options for updating firmware that are less risky?